Tag Archives: High Places

High Places – “Late Bloomer”

This is the new video for the song High Places did for their split with Porch-favorite Soft Circle.

It’s out now on PPM!

City Center on the Porch


City Center makes effects-driven experimental pop, the staple niche for many groups nowadays such as High Places and Animal Collective, but with more experiments, and less pop. Not a disadvantage by any means, rather each song seems to swim, and they realize this as well with their sea-centric artwork, through layers of indecipherable, yet warm sounds. Throw in some acoustic strumming or tribal percussion, hell sometimes even both, to pull it all back together, and you’ve got City Center at their best. Without further Delay, please check out the interview.

Mp3: City Center – Gladest

Continue reading

Summer Vision 3

This week’s Summer Vibe Zone is the third Summer Vision post. I’m attempting to conjure ultimate summer vibes with images and sounds. I hope you like it!

pzVoqMpSKoniwdrpvV9BiGtdo1_500 Continue reading

Friday Feel 23


It’s friday again! Hope you have a good one and the vibes carry you through the weekend.

1. Our Brother the Native – “Apodiformes”
2. The Notwist – “Gloomy Planets”
3. *Matthew Koons – “Eider Petrel”
4. Ruby Suns – “Palmitos Park” (El Guincho cover)
5. High Places – “The Storm”
6. El Guincho – “Buenos Matrimonios Ahí Fuera”

Please support these amazing artists.

*A super real good friend of the porch.

Matthew Koons – “Sunshine Drips & Fallen Branches”

Matthew Koons is another Denton,TX friend of the Porch. He has incredible taste in music and an infinite personality. (This fella treated me to a fine time at SXSW 2006)

Matthew’s mix is a friendly blend of ethereal slow burners and straight forward tropical rhythms. Delight in the fine mixture of exotic melodies lapping on the shore to help transition from laughing summer days dripping with sunlight into the gentle coolness of the autumnal equinox. A veritable host of Koon’s most respected artists are stopping in to help you fold up the tank tops and pull out the sweaters and longjohns!

DOWNLOAD “Sunshine Drips & Fallen Branches”

Total running time: 42:35

Track listing:
1. Ennio Morricone – For A Few Dollars More theme
2. S.E. Rogie – Twist with the Morning Stars
3. Deerhunter – Dot Gain
4. Psychic Ills – Electric Life
4. T. Rex – Jeepster
6. Caetano Veloso – Badaue
7. Thistle – Hands of Smoke
8. Animal Collective – From A Beach
9. Alton Ellis – Ain’t That Lovin’ You
10. Fantastic Magic – Sea of Gold
11. High Places – Golden
12. Big Cherry – Come in Bonzo
13. Megapuss – Lavender Blimp
14. Ruby Suns – Ole Rinka


*original drawing by Matthew Koons, himself

Hazy Summer Podcast

The wonderful people at Nene Records asked me to contribute a mix to their excellent series of podcasts. I served up a 38 minute slice of warm, psychedelic jams for the longest, hottest days of summer. And, as an added bonus, you get to hear me struggle through the Spanish language! Really, what more could you ask for?


01)  Taj Mahal Travelers – “Part I”  August 1974 [1974]
02)  High Places – “Canary”  03/07 – 09/07 [2008]
03)  Panda Bear – “I’m Not”  Person Pitch [2007]
04)  White Rainbow – “Sundune Sandset Sundrip”  Sky Drips Drifts CD-R [2007]
05)  Kraftwerk – “Tongebirge”  Ralf und Florian [1973]
06)  Fantastic Magic – “Flowerbeds”  Witch Choir CS [2007]
07)  Julianna Barwick – “Unt7”  Sanguine [2007]
08)  Attar Cups – “Untitled I”  Attar Cups CS [2007]
09)  Grizzly Bear – “Plans”  Yellow House [2006]
10)  Persona – “Céu”  Som [1975]
11)  Magic Lantern – “At the Mountains of Madness”  At the Mountains of Madness CS [2008]

Download Here (right click, save as)

Subscribe to the entire podcast series here.

Photo by: Damien