Jana Hunter on the Porch

I had a chance to talk with the lovely Jana Hunter recently for an article I was working on. You can read the piece here, but I saved some extra tidbits for the Porch.

First, some MP3s:
Jana Hunter – “Farm, Ca.”
Jana Hunter – “Babies”

The Porch: What kinds of things inspire you?

Jana Hunter: Really, other people’s music inspires me a lot. Also, new equipment. You know when you get a new piece of equipment and you spend hours and weeks playing with it. Pretty much any really inspiring work, not just music. And major life events too.

The Porch: What is your song writing process like?

Jana Hunter: Usually I’ll be just fooling around with a guitar, daydreaming and singing some nonsense stuff. While I’m daydreaming and singing through that subconscious stream of thought, something will suddenly appear that bridges the gap from my subconscious to the conscious and I’ll work it into a song.

The Porch: What are some bands that you’re currently into?

Jana HunterCharlie Tweddle, a lot of Sublime Frequencies stuff, and Afro-beat.

The Porch: What is coming up as far as releases?

Jana Hunter: Right now, I’m doing some noise/improvised stuff, but I’m still writing songs and putting them away for an album that is in its infancy. Currently, I’m really trying to work on the ensemble set-up, introducing some new stuff and getting everything really solid for the tour.

The Porch: When can we finally get that Jracula album?

Jana Hunter: Man, I don’t know, it’s really difficult to get those people together. One of the guys got married and has a kid now, and Toto has Octopus Project and they are doing really well. I really like playing with them, but it’s never going to be easy for us to get together. We recorded a lot and I’d really like to get an album out and tour for it, but that’s probably not going to happen.

Sad, sad news. The good news is that Jana is currently touring through Texas and the rest of the Southern United States. Check her MySpace for dates.

Leave a Reply

